Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I keep reading these reports of people in Breezy Point and the Rockaways wandering around asking strangers for food. It seems that there’s no FEMA yet, and no Red Cross, either. I may get turned away at the road, but I can’t not try. Today, Thursday 11/1, I’d like to fill my car as full as I possibly can with food and supplies, and try to head out east tomorrow. Using the list posted onInterOccupy.net, I’ll attempt to get to one of the Rockaway centers first.

I can collect in the following Brooklyn neighborhoods: Red Hook, Park Slope, Cobble Hill, Carroll Gardens, Prospect Park, and that general area. People can also drop supplies off to me in Red Hook, Brooklyn.

Andrew, my maynz, can pick up items in midtown tonight after 11p. I can’t get into the city without two other people in the car. New rule from El Bloombito. But Andrew’s there working, and can make a couple of stops after work.

I’m looking to collect the obvious stuff: food, can openers, toilet paper, toiletries, ladies sanitary items, warm (clean, please) clothing, water. Mostly food, I guess. The most urgent needs, as posted on interoccupy.net, are:

* Propane grille or camping style oven
* Plates, cups, forks, bowls, spoons, etc
* blankets, jackets, gloves, hats, anything to keep folks warm
* cleaning supplies – buckets, squeegies, mops, bleach
* masks, gloves for cleaning
* socks
* water
* tarps
* garbage bags

I’m hoping to coordinate with a woman upstate who’s planning to rent a moving type truck. She’d like to bring donations from Utica, and so if there’s a second wave of donations here in Brooklyn, once she’s gotten her end together, maybe I can collect again in a few days.

If you have ideas, supplies, or connections, please leave a comment and I’ll get in touch privately. Please share this. I’d love to pack the car air tight. We need to help these folks till FEMA can get there.

